Thursday, April 10, 2008

FVSU Students Excel at National Scientific Conference

Four Fort Valley State University students won top awards recently for scientific research presented at the 65th Annual Joint Meeting of the Beta Kappa Chi National Scientific Honor Society and the National Institute of Science. The trip to Irving, Texas was funded by a travel grant from NIS through the National Institutes of Health, the Peach State Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation and the National Science Foundation.

Biology majors Antoinette Johnson and Quintina Stewart won first place in the science education category. Horticulture major Miriam Jimerson secured a second place award and CDEP student Kerri Cooks received third place honors in the earth science category. Biology major Chase Turner won third place in the biology category.

400 faculty members and students from 29 national institutions and Puerto Rico attended the event. During the conference, FVSU students and faculty attended lectures presented by nationally-recognized scientists during workshops on Global Climate Change, Demand for Energy and Nuclear Technology. In other workshops, attendees learned about exploring the universe and earth from space; research training and outreach activities; there were also opportunities for faculty federal panels.

At the meeting, Dr. Clinton Dixon and Dr. Robert Steele served as judges for biology paper presentations. For the second time, Dr. Frederick McLaughlin was elected vice president of the Southeastern Region of BKX and Dr. Dwayne Daniels was chosen – also for the second time – as a Southeastern Regional councilman and editor of the BKX Bulletin.

FVSU faculty members and students in attendance at the meeting:

Robin Wright
Jasmine Paul
Wendy Wilson
Antoinette Johnson
Sherri Hammond
Miriam Jimerson
Jennifer Jones
Sakinah Miller
Lula Brown
Mabya Nyannor
Tiffany Harris
Quintina Stewart
Tyleka Moore
Stephanie Williams
Cayshia Piersaul
Kerri Cooks
Marrisa Tripp
Lakira Harrison
Nicole Bellinger
Monica Sulliven
Tiffany Baskerville
Alexander Little
Raymond Dickey
Charles Martin
Nicholas Harrison
Kashiwa Brawner
Roy Sheppard
Courtney Heritage
Jarrett Proctor
Chase Turner
Marvin Brown
Charles Turner
Oscar Chaney
Melvin Ateuyi

No comments: